Anchored in Love– Sunday, April 18

welcome to spring!  happy thesis!

Old Virginny– Jean Ritchie,

King Kong Kitchie Kitchie Ki Me-O– Chubby Parker, Anthology of American Folk

I Ain’t Got Nobody– Emmett Miller

The Spasm– Daddy Stovepipe and Mississippi Sarah, Good for What Ails You, Music from the Medicine Shows

I’ll Be Glad When You’re Dead, You Rascal You– Louis Armstrong

K.C. Moan– Memphis Jug Band, Anthology of American Folk

Goin’ Down the Road Feelin’ Bad– Elizabeth Cotten, Freight Train and other North Carolina Folk Songs (they’re the same!)

There is A Happy Land– Almeda Riddle, How Firm a Foundation

Til the Warfare is Over– Sacred Harp

Amazing Grace– Sacred Harp

Jaw Bone– Echoes of the Ozarks

State of Arkansas– The Almanac Singers

Set 2:  I Can’t Give You Anything But Love

I Can’t Give You Anything But Love, Paul Anastasio, Joe Holly, We Ain’t Misbehavin’

Some of these Days (1927)– Sophie Tucker, Best of…

Grizzly Bear– Stella Mayhew, Edison Disc

I Don’t Care– Eva Tanguay, Edison Disc

I’m Looking for Something to Eat– Stella Mayhew, Edison Disc

Sadie Salome, Go Home– Edward M. Favor

My Yiddisha Mammy– Irving Kauffman, Jewface

Mammy’s Little Coal Black Rose– Manuel Romain, Edison Cylinder

Cohen Owes Me 97 Dollars– Rhonda Kaufman, Jewface

Mammy– Al Jolson, The Jazz Singer

That Lovin’ Rag– Sophie Tucker, Origins of the Red Hot Mama

When Mose With His Nose Leads the Band– Arthur Collins, Jewface

Second Hand Rose– Fanny Brice

I Just Can’t Make My Eyes Behave– Barbara Parkins (as Anna Held,) from Ziegfeld, the Man and His Women

Set 3:  Love Has Brought Me to Despair

Love Has Brought Me to Despair– Cass Wallin, Dark Holler

Wondrous Love– Sacred Harp (thanks Gryphon for the mix!!)

Tom Devil– Ed Lewis and the Prisoners, Alan Lomax’s Prison Recordings

I Wish I Could Shimmy Like My Sister Kate– Cotton Pickers

About this entry